Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Create a web profile
Share |

The Michigan Section operates with six Councils overseeing the activities of the organization.


Conference & Recognition

Education & Training

Government Affairs


Technical Network    



Communications Council

The purpose of this Council is serve as a resource for the development and implementation of programs designed to improve the water industry’s image; to increase public appreciation of the importance of safe drinking water; to increase the professional image of the water industry; to support national programs promoting the water profession that are in alignment with the Michigan Section strategic plan; and to oversee internal communication to assure an informed membership. This oversight includes website, newsletter, direct mail decisions, and monitoring online usage and website analytics to determine appropriate use of social media and website development.

Chair - Michelle Zdrodowski michelle.zdrodowski@ 313-224-4739
Vice Chair -  Angie Goodman   ame1@   517-702-7059
Board Liaison -Aaron Uranga

Team Members: Ben Anderson, Aftab Borka, Stephanie Geiger, Angie Goodman, Cindy Irving, Kelly Gleason, Bill Maier, Michael O' Malley, Kaisra Osman, Kris Philip, Randy Roost, Tom Smith, Brian Steglitz, Aftab Vorka, Ariel Zoldan

Conference & Recognition Council

The purpose of this Council is to oversee, coordinate and assure quality implementation of all aspects of the annual conference; to define and implement a coordinated, quality system of awards, contests, and recognition appropriate to the Section; and be accountable to the strategic plan and our Section values of quality products/services, excellence in all we do, and innovation/creativity.

Chair - Jaime Fleming FlemingJ @
Vice Chair - Adam DeYoung
Board Liaison - Greg Alimenti

Team Members: Aaron Davenport, Jessica Howard, Kip Koszewski, Mike Schlegelmann, Doug Scott, Tom Smith, Dave Stinson,  Nate Vriesman

Education & Training Council

The purpose of this Council is to serve as an umbrella, overseeing, aligning, and coordinating all education functions or events to support the strategic plan.

Chair - Gary Wozniak gary.wozniak@  517-702-6624
Vice Chair - Jamie Hockemeyer  jhockemeyer@  989-779-5427
Board Liaison - Joe VanderStel

Team Members: Bruce Bartley, Ray Berkin, Jon Dmitruk, Sally Duffy, Lisa Fought, Mike Grenier, Jeff Keown, Dawn Lund, Craig Lyon, Bob Miller, Sanjeev Mungarwadi, Paul Reinsch, Casey Rose, Scott Schmidt, Peter Schwarz, Sandra Sutton, Brian Thurston, Trevor Wagenmaker

Government Affairs & Legislation Council

The purpose of this Council is advocacy activity and policy position recommendations to the Section Board; to be aware of and proactively influence pending legislation and/or administrative rules or regulations which would affect the waterworks industry; to continue to frame policy positions for the section that support providing the highest quality drinking water; to establish contact with and support the activities of the AWWA Water Utility Council; and to utilize AWWA resources in Washington, D.C. and contacts in other Sections.

Chair - Molly Maciejewski   mmaciejewski @   (734) 794-6000
Vice Chair - Andrew Reynolds
Board Liaison - Cheryl Porter

Team Members: Clyde Dugan, Steve Guy, Scott House, Matt Kennedy, John O'Brien, Cheryl Porter, Randy Scott, Bob Veneklasen, John Willemin.

Member Recruitment & Engagement Council

The purpose of this Council is to build upon the existing foundation to recruit, retain and engage members; to promote the benefits of AWWA and the Michigan Section to potential members; to develop a diversified pipeline of potential leaders to fill leadership roles; to develop and manage a program to integrate the new members and in particular young professionals into the Section community; and to identify water professionals from diverse backgrounds/functions and engage them in Section activities.

Chair - Amy Vail   231-876-4481  
Vice Chair - Carrie Cox
Board Liaison - Ken McDonough

Team Members: Rachael Barlock, Tony Cecchini, Alando Chappell, Terri Conerway  Joe Eastman, Jenna Karazim, Barbara Marczak, Matt Parks


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal